WhatsApp is finally bringing the much-awaited feature. The popular messaging app is reportedly testing the ‘unsend’ feature. The new feature will allow the users to recall the messages sent mistakenly.
To be called ‘Delete for everyone’ feature, it will enable the users to erase the messages before their contacts have read them. As per WaBetaInfo (@wabetainfo), a Twitter account that tracks changes in WhatsApp’s beta builds, the company is testing the feature on both Android and iOS. The leak also confirms that the dedicated recall server is now working and is deleting messages.
Apart from WhatsApp apps like Viber, WeChat, Telegram already have a similar feature. The leak further suggests that the ‘unsend’ feature will work on all types of messages including text, GIFs, Photos, videos and other files. The recalled text will also disappear from the notification center and the receiver will not find any trace of it.
Recently, the ‘unsend’ feature was spotted on Windows Phone. The feature allows users to recall sent messages within five minutes of them being sent.
It was recently reported that WhatsApp is also testing YouTube integration in its app. The feature would let you view YouTube videos without leaving the app. As of now if you tap on a YouTube video link, it forces you to open the YouTube app separately. The feature is being tested on the iOS beta app version.
This feature is said to be hidden in WhatsApp for iOS version 2.17.40. It allows users to playback YouTube video links in a picture-in-picture mode. The floating window can be resized using pinch to zoom gesture. There will also be an option to open the video in full screen mode and hide the chat window by docking the video on the size of the chat.